Back in the Saddle Again

Hey!  How are things with you?

Since I last posted, I’ve been–to borrow a Colbert line–busy rearranging the deck chairs on the Hindenburg.  Mine are slipping around a bit and a few are a bit warm, but all told they still look pretty tidy.  Our net worth is “only” down about eleven percent.  But I’m sure that’ll drop even more when–if?–the markets open again.

Oh well.  Things could be much worse.  Uh, make that things will be much worse.

But for now, I’m just cooking up and freezing vast quantities of tomato sauce and filling hanging baskets in the pantry with my shallots.  I’ll dig the carrots later.

In other words, I have a bit of free time to sympathize with others.  One friend has given up all hope of keeping her home of eighteen years.  Another is hyperventilating about a fifty percent drop in the market value of her retirement portfolio.  Others are worried about paying college tuition, finding/keeping jobs, or just filling their gas tanks.

At least those around me are now staring hard into the fog of the future.  Unfortunately though, now that most Americans are moving beyond passive fretting, too many are still avoiding introspection and analysis and seeking only scapegoats and excuses for inaction.

Hence we are seeing things like this: “President Osama?  U.S. Election Ballot Misspells Obama’s Name.”

And this: “Economic Woes Chill Effort to Stop Global Warming.”

I guess my deck chairs will continue to warm.

Pity.

Cassandra

One Response to “Back in the Saddle Again”

  1. Sybil Says:

    Perhaps I can use the toasting chairs to warm my chickpeas. I’ve stocked even more cans of salmon, so count me in for dinner.

    Now I read that every government is guaranteeing every investment. Are we all going down together while singing kumbayah?

    Good to be back.
    Sybil

Leave a Reply

