“Too Young, Too Thin”

Here’s a bit from “Arctic Ice Got Smaller, Thinner, Younger This Winter,” yet another report on the polar ice, this time the Arctic:

Arctic ice continued its decline this winter, with hearty old ice increasingly being replaced with quick-to-melt young ice, according to a new report by NASA and the National Snow and Ice Data Center.

Of course, who is going to believe information from these dubious sources? I mean, they are probably using satellite info and other suspicious science stuff. They most likely even have computers.

OK, I’m getting more and more fed up with the ideologues who tell me they aren’t ideologues.

The bias against scientific organizations continues to stun me. One global warming skeptic sent me a patronizing email in which he told me that I shouldn’t pay attention to the anything from the National Geographic since they were–I believe I’m remembering his phrase accurately–“global warming activists.” Instead, he suggested, I should pay attention to “terrific” sites like Junk Science because “Stephen Milloy’s credentials are impeccable.”

Impeccable shill, I say. Milloy advocates “sound science,” which is anything but. “Sound science” is a clever ploy to undermine the essence of the scientific method, an ongoing process that rarely, rarely reaches the level of certainty required by the nefarious ploy called “sound science.”

SourceWatch lists Milloy as “a columnist for Fox News and a paid advocate for Phillip Morris, ExxonMobil and other corporations.” I suppose that makes one “impeccable” in a corporate/political way.

(And, yes, I know SourceWatch is also one of those ideologue sites. I cross-reference them too because a decent researcher cross-references EVERYTHING.)

For anyone unfamiliar with Milloy, I suggest a visit to “Correcting Myths from Steven Milloy.” Poking around there should explain why he’s not one of the people I’ll listen to.

Now I’m still trying to figure out skeptics like Freeman Dyson. He may not be a climate scientist, but he’s certainly harder to dismiss than Milloy.

But until I see more substance, even from Dyson, I’ll stay with NASA, the National Snow and Ice Data Center, and those global warming activists at National Geographic.

Cassandra

P.S. For anyone interested in the art of evaluating sources, I strongly recommend Cornell’s “Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.” This site lists National Geographic as an example under the heading “SUBSTANTIVE NEWS OR GENERAL INTEREST.” But, then again, most high-end universities are filled with global warming activists, aren’t they? By that, I mean they follow the scientific method rather than just being RIGHT.

Leave a Reply

