Dysfunctionality R(and) Us

While in junior high school, I shuddered my way through Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead without fully understanding why I hated them so much or why so many other people, including many well out of junior high school, found them compelling. Then I stumbled across two recent articles on Ayn Rand.

Here’s Mark Ames’ article from Exiledonline: “ATLAS SHRIEKED: Ayn Rand’s First Love and Mentor Was a Sadistic Serial Killer Who Dismembered Little Girls”

Here’s Johann Hart’s Slate article: “How Ayn Rand Became an American Icon: The Perverse Allure of a Damaged Woman.”

While I realize there may well be a bit of ad hominem in my extrapolation of Rand herself and her philosophy, the overlap strikes me as clear. In any event, I felt a rush of schadenfreude reading these articles. Then I remembered that many people in America continue to admire and even extol Rand’s dysfunctional take on the world, and my youthful shudders returned.

Cassandra

Leave a Reply

