Pollan on Lawns

Today’s AWAD vocabulary email brought with it this line:

A lawn is nature under totalitarian rule. -Michael Pollan, author, journalism professor (b. 1955)

I like this. The typical, manicured American lawn reflects not a love of nature but of conformity. When I ask the typical lawn tender why a weed-free plane of clipped grass is so important, I usually get blank stares. Most do not reflect on the waste of water, fertilizer, and time.

Consequently, I was glad to add Michel Pollan to my non-infidel list.

I still say it! Death to Infidel Lawns!

Leave a Reply

